DAY 295: Jean-Luc Van Den Heede crowned winner of the 2018 Golden Globe Race

  • Thousands drawn to the open air presentation in Les Sables d'Olonne
  • Sir Robin Knox-Johnston publishes Report on lessons learned from dismastings.
  • 2022 GGR skippers announced

Dateline: 22/04/2019, Les Sables d’Olonne, France

Click on thumbnails to download high res images

Podium winners: left to right: Uku Randmaa (3rd) Jean-Luc Van Den Heede (1st) Mark Slats (2nd)

Winners with the GGR Perputual trophy made from wood salvaged from the original Suhaili. Left: Yannick Moreau - Mayor of Les Sables d'Olonne Aglomoration. Right: Don McIntyre, Chairman of the 2018 GGR


Susie Goodall receives the Kay Cottee Trophy from Yannick Moreau and Don McIntyre

Below: the 2018 GGR Skippers:

Exactly 50 years to the day that Sir Robin Knox-Johnston returned to Falmouth UJK after 312 days at sea to become the first man to sail solo non-stop around the Globe, 73-year old Frenchman Jean-Luc Van Den Heede was crowned winner of the second Golden Globe Race in Les Sables d'Olonne, France

Jean-Luc Van Den Heede enjoying the applause during the GGR prizegiving in Les Sables d'Olonne today

And all but two of Van Den Heede's rivals made the pilgrimage to the Race finish port to applaud his performance in besting Sir Robin's original circumnavigation by 100 days aboard his Rustler 36 Matmut. 5th placed Finnish skipper Tapio Lehtinen is still more than 2,000 miles from the finish, but made a live satellite call broadcast to the thousands of spectators thronged the open-air seafront presentation. "I'm maximising on my entry fee for this race and enjoying every minute of the Race." he joked.

Sir Robin also joined the celebrations via a live link from Falmouth to congratulate everyone, saying that their efforts have inspired so many people around the world to challenge themselves in this and other adventures.

Prize winners

WINNER GGR 2018 Jean-Luc VDH (FRA)  Matmut  211D 23H 12MSuhaili timber perpetual model and trophy model
RALF TECH Winners' watch
BOATSHED.COM £5000 winners purse

2nd: Mark Slats  (NED) Ohpen Maverick  216D 00H 18M
Trophy model of Suhaili

3rd: Uku Randmaa (EST) One and All  254D 18H 40M
Trophy model of Suhaili1st Corinthian (Unsponsored) entry trophy

4th :Istvan Kopar (USA/HUN)  264D 01H 38M 

Susie Goodall (GBR): Kay Kottee Trophy for First Woman in 2018 GGR 

Tapio Lehtinen  (FIN): McIntyre Adventure Spirit of GGR Trophy

2022 GGR

Already, 20 sailors from 10 Countries have signed up to compete in the next Golden Globe Race slated to start on 4th September 2022, and many more have expressed an interest to compete.

2022 GGR entrants to date.
1 John Clarke  (47) GBR  - Nicholson 32 MKX
2 Ian Herbert Jones  (49) GBR - Tradewind 35
3 Guy Waites  (52) GBR
4 Ertan Beskardes  (57) GBR - Rustler 36
5 Simon Curwen (60) GBR  - Biscay 36
6 Robin Davie (67) GBR - Rustler 36
7 Confidenial   GBR 
8 Arnaud Gaist  (47) FRA Barbican 33 MKII (long keel version)
9 Confidential   FRA
10 Guy deBoer  (63) USA
11 Doug Dean JOHNSON  (53) USA - Rustler 36
12 Matthew Wright  (49) AUS
13 Michael Date (57) AUS Aries 32
14 Confidenial   AUS 
15 Michael Guggenberger (41) AUT - Endurance 35
16 Gaurav Shinde (32) CAN
17 Pat Lawless (62) IRE Saga 36
18 Guido Cantini  (50) ITA Vancouver 34
19 Confidenial   NZL - Rustler 36
20 Confidenial   NOR

Total: 10 Country, 7 British, 3 Australian, 2 France, 2 American, 1 Austria, 1 Canada, 1 Irish, 1 Italy, 1 New Zealand, 1 Norway.
12 with Boats already."

Lessons learned from sailing small yachts in extreme conditions

Sir Robin Knox-Johnston also published his long awaited Report considering the tessons learned from sailing small yachts in extreme conditions including the 5 dismastings suffered during the 2018 GGR.

Click here to download the Report


Other competitors

Chichester Class

1. Igor Zaretskiy (RUS) Endurance 35 Esmeralda - stopped in Albany, W Australia


Ertan Beskardes (GBR) Rustler 36 Lazy Otter
Kevin Farebrother (AUS) Tradewind 35 Sagarmatha
Nabil Amra (PAL) Biscay 36 Liberty II
Philippe Péché (FRA) Rustler 36 PRB
Antoine Cousot (FRA) Biscay 36 Métier Intérim
Are Wiig (NOR) OE32 Olleanna 
Abhilash Tomy (IND) Suhaili replica Thuriya
Gregor McGuckin (IRE) Biscay 36 Hanley Energy Endurance
Francesco Cappelletti (ITA) Endurance 35 007
Loïc Lepage (FRA) Nicholson 32 Laaland
Susie Goodall (GBR) Rustler 36 DHL Starlight
Mark Sinclair (AUS) Lello 34 Coconut


TV VNRs and hi.Res photographs

Click here to review Istvan Kopar photo Archive

Click here to review Uku Randmaa photo Archive

Click here to review Mark Slats photo Archive

Click here to review Jean-Luc Van Den Heede photo Archive

TV VNRs and hi.res photographs are available to download from the GGR Press Login page If you have not yet registered, do so now to access these copyright free media assets and receive regular press updates on the Race.

Password is 2018GGR

 CLICK HERE  for latest position reports and weather information  


How to follow the race

Mobile tracking APP:

Skippers soundcloud:

Details of skippers and their yachts

Click Here to view skipper profiles and pictures
Click Here to download the Boat Stats
Click Here to download competitor information and contact details

Click here for Press Registration and photos of skippers and yachts

For further information contact: Barry Pickthall - GGR Media Coordinator +44 (0)7768 395719

Published by: PPL Ltd, PO Box 78, Hindhead, Surrey, GU27 9GA, UK
Forward this email to a friend.
Subscribe to this list here.
Powered by CovariMail.